3 Ways I Use to Stay Updated with Tech Trends and News

715 views

3 Ways I Use to Stay Updated with Tech Trends and News

As someone deeply embedded in the tech world, I have my own ways of staying updated. While I use all the methods I'm about to share, there's one I prefer the most. Let's explore these methods together, and by the end, I'll reveal my top pick.

Method 1: Social Media

Social media is my go-to for getting quick updates. Platforms like Reddit and Twitter are where I follow tech figures, companies pages, and influencers. It's a great way to get diverse perspectives and instant news.

AdvantagesDisadvantages
Instant news updatesInformation overload
Diverse perspectivesCan be biased
Adapted insights by the algorithmRequires engagement

Method 2: Tech Blogs & Newsletters

For more detailed insights, I turn to tech blogs and newsletters. They're perfect for in-depth analysis and further explanations. I make it a habit to check these during my commute or breakfast. Some of my favorites for broader insights include TechCrunch, Wired and Morning Brew.

And let's not forget the best curated Newsletter for React developers: This week in React.

AdvantagesDisadvantages
In-depth analysisTime-consuming
Tailored to interestsRisk of email clutter
Regular updatesOverwhelming

Method 3: Browser Extensions

My personal favorite is the Hackertab browser extension, created by my friend Mehdi. It’s open-source, customizable, and integrates seamlessly into your daily browsing.

While daily.dev does the same, I find it more like a social network for tech, Hackertab offers a more focused approach. Here’s a quick comparison:

Hackertab:

  • Customizable news feed, all in one menu
  • Personalized sources with RSS feed updates
  • Made by a friend, which adds a personal touch ✨

daily.dev:

  • Broader range of tech news
  • More community-driven
  • Social network feel

I recently made a video demonstrating what I liked in Hackertab and how to use it ⬇️


AdvantagesDisadvantages
Personalized news feedLimited to browser use (if not PWA)
Time-saving and convenientRequires initial setup
Integrates with daily browsing flowMay miss out on social aspects

How I use these methods effectively

While these tools help me stay informed, it's important to use them wisely ⚠️.

Balancing screen time and not getting overwhelmed is key, as we've seen with the recent Open AI drama... It's fun to watch, but it can be a major brain distraction, pulling our focus away from productive tasks and leading us down endless digital rabbit holes.

Algorithms can be your ally in getting meaningful recommendations, but remember to take breaks and manage your digital consumption.

Conclusion

Staying updated in the tech world is crucial, and these methods have served me well. However, my top preference is Hackertab for its simplicity.

If there’s a method or tool I’ve missed, message me on Twitter! Let's keep each other informed and make the most of the tech world around us.



See all posts

Liked this post?

Buy me a coffee link